New Piirpauke Album “Koli” climbs straight to Number Two on World Music Charts Europe!
September 1st, 2010

The pioneering world music band Piirpauke, established in the late 1970’s, returned to its Finnish roots with a new all star line-up on their new album “Koli”. The album was released in May 2010 on Rockadillo Records. Now “Koli” goes straight to Number Two on World Music Charts Europe in September 2010. That is the highest position for a European artist on the September chart, and the highest position for a Finnish artist for several years. It is also the highest position of Piirpauke’s history. In the Spring another Rockadillo Records release “Mun” by Wimme was on the chart for a respectable four months, topping at Number Three. In fact, “Mun” return to the September Top 20.

The music on the Piirpauke album comes partly from the roots of Finnish folk music, from jazz and partly from the classical compositions from the time of the Finnish national romanticism – all performed with a strong multicultural soundscape. Four of the tracks are original compositions by Jean Sibelius, and there is one Tchaikovsky piece, too.

In addition to the long-time Piirpauke members Sakari Kukko and Ismaila Sane the new line-up features top class musicians Eerik Siikasaari (double bass), Rami Eskelinen (drums) and Jukka Orma (guitar). Siikasaari and Eskelinen are famous for their career in the Finnish jazz band Trio Töykeät, whereas Orma has been playing in various rock and jazz groups, for example Sielun Veljet. “Koli” is produced by Mika Mylläri (Us3 etc).

Great success for Rockadillo artists!